Floods

Hope you’re all surviving the floods ok.

14 Likes

I cannot believe they have left it this long to release the Warragamba dam. My brother lives on the Hawkesbury river and they are in deep shit, just like many others.

How much smarts do some of these people have to wait until it’s full and flooding to release the water. An expert said they knew six months ago that this weather was on its way.

Our premier Glady’s said they would of had to lower the levels to 25% full to accommodate this rain then we could face the risk running out. Bugger me Glady’s but you don’t have to release all the water in one go. I’m no expert but couldn’t you lower the levels to roughly 75-80% every second week so we don’t have to go through what we currently are.

Anyway that’s just my opinion. Best of luck to everyone.

2 Likes

As of last Monday I own a place in Wingham. The plan is to retire there sooner or later. It’s on a couple of acres just out of town.
On Saturday we drove 4 hours to Wingham with a Van full of belongings to pick the keys up and stay the night. We had to turnaround and drive back. The rest is history. We can’t find out for sure but our place is not mentioned on the flood report.

10 Likes

I agree that it’s a bit frustrating, but as you point out, you are no expert (and nor am I), and presumably those that are are working from the best information available for them. The areas currently at risk of being flooded are in a natural flood plain, and with the best will in world, sometimes there is just too much rain for the river system to cope with, dam or no dam. This has been a one-in-50 year event (at least), and so some flooding is inevitable.

All that said, my heart goes out to those affected, and I hope they get away with minimal damage and no loss of life.

The Hawkesbury area is like a massive lake at the moment.

This is a pic of our home ground out here

3 Likes